Day 017 – 01172011

For those of us who live in America, happy Martin Luther King Jr. Day celebration today!

Today I decided once again to fiddle with HDR because I have come up with mixed results during my latest experiments in this field.

I used here a photo I took of Yosemite Falls with the Merced River in the foreground. I underexposed the original photo to preserve the detail in the water and the clouds, however this action darkened both the bridge and the river areas.

Using Adobe Camera Raw, I created five separate files, each one with an exposure increase of 1/2-stop, and saved them as TIFF files. I also created one underexposed file in similar fashion. Afterwards I combined all the resulting TIFF files in Photomatix Pro and played with the Tone Mapping controls.

Technical data of the original photo: aperture f/8.0, exposure 1/80th sec, ISO 100.

Leave a Reply

