>Day 034 – 02032011

>

Up until today I have only seen closeup photos of ice crystal taken by someone else.

This morning the temperatures dropped to 32 degrees F and we had some areas of light frost. I wanted to capture some of it with my macro lens before the sun came up and melt it away. This is one of the shots I got of a grass blade, where the ice actually shows the crystal formations in sharp detail.

I set my camera to manual setting and I braced my arms against my knees as I crouched down to prevent motion blur because I had no tripod with me.

Technical data: f/5.6, 1/60th sec, ISO 100.

Leave a Reply

