>Day 037 – 02062011

>

We made our biannual pilgrimage to the Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens in Fort Bragg, CA, and we couldn’t have picked a better day to visit. The weather was a balmy 70 degrees F with a light ocean breeze. And, as it is usual during our visit, we were greeted with a variety of plants in full bloom.

I found this calla lily plant (Zantedeschia aethiopica) growing under the shade of a pine tree and almost hidden from view. As I took the photo, this helped me out for two reasons:
1) I use the trunk of the pine tree to steady myself and my camera (I wasn’t carrying my tripod).
2) I deliberately exposed for the white of the flower, which in turn made the background quite dark, helping the flowers to stand out.

The raw file was processed in Adobe Camera Raw where the yellows and greens were enhanced using the Adjustment Brush.

Technical data: spot-metering at f/8.0, 1/125th sec, ISO 100.

Leave a Reply

